Participants march against sexual assault and harassment at the #MeToo March in the Hollywood section of Los Angeles. File picture: Damian Dovarganes/AP

New York - The #MeToo movement, which was started by women speaking out against sexual harassment, has been named Time magazine's Person of the Year.

In the wake of revelations about Harvey Weinstein and other men, millions have shared their stories about being sexually harassed and assaulted.

The announcement was made Wednesday on NBC's "Today" show, where longtime host Matt Lauer was recently fired amid harassment allegations.

Other finalists included President Donald Trump, Chinese President Xi Jinping and quarterback Colin Kaepernick.

Also read: 

Thousands join the #MeToo movement

Chrissy Teigen joins Twitter boycott to support Rose McGowan

Gabrielle Union: Sexual harassment can happen to anyone