President Jacob Zuma File picture: Themba Hadebe/AP

Johannesburg - President Jacob Zuma signed the Financial Sector Regulation Act, 2017 into law, the Presidency said on Monday.

"The Act establishes two new financial sector regulators, the Financial Sector Conduct Authority and the Prudential Authority with jurisdiction over all financial institutions, and to provide them with a range of supervisory tools to fulfil their objectives," the Presidency said.
The Presidency said that the Act makes provision for and ensures that there is co-operation and collaboration between the financial sector regulators, the National Credit Regulator, the Financial Intelligence Centre and the South African Reserve Bank.

"The Act aims to achieve a financial system that works in the interests of financial customers, and supports balanced and sustainable economic growth in the Republic, by establishing, in conjunction with other financial sector laws, a regulatory and supervisory framework that promotes... financial stability; the safety and soundness of financial institutions; the fair treatment and protection of financial customers; the efficiency and integrity of the financial system; the prevention of financial crime; financial inclusion; transformation of the financial sector; and confidence in the financial system." 
African News Agency