Independent Online

Friday, August 19, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

DA to lay charges against those implicated in VBS scandal

Picture: Screenshot

Picture: Screenshot

Published Oct 11, 2018


CAPE TOWN - The Democratic Alliance (DA) Shadow Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Kevin Mileham MP, and the DA National Spokesperson, Solly Malatsi MP, will lay criminal charges on Thursday against the 50 individuals who allegedly syphoned billions from VBS Mutual Bank.

The charges follow the damning forensic report, “VBS Mutual Bank - The Great Bank Heist”, which was released by the South African Reserve Bank (SARB) on Wednesday. 

Story continues below Advertisement

The report named more than 50 individuals who allegedly looted the bank for their own personal financial gains and recommended that criminal charges be brought against them.

The DA said that some of these individuals have close ties with political parties such as the ANC and the EFF and no doubt shamelessly abused their political connections to steal from the poor.

"The VBS scandal has already put numerous municipalities at risk of losing revenue. Worst of all this heist has left countless poor South Africans stranded as they struggle to gain access to their life-savings", the statement said.


1. Vele and its associates + R936 million

2 Tshifhiwa Matodzi = R325 million.

3 Free State Development Corporation = R104 million.

Story continues below Advertisement

4 Kabelo Matsepe = R35 million.

5 Sipho Malaba R34 million.

6 Phophi Mukhodobwane R30 million.

Story continues below Advertisement

.7 Paul Makhavu = R30 million

8 Robert Madzonga = R30 million.

9 Andile Ramavhunga = R28 million.

Story continues below Advertisement

10 Solly Maposa = R24 million

11 Ralliom Razwinane = R24 million.

2 Firmanox = R17.4 million

13 The Venda king, Toni Mphephu = R17.7 million.

14 Ndivhuwo Khangale = R16.8 million.

15 Sechaba Serote = R16.6 million.

16 Ernest Nesane = R16.6 million

17 Brian Shivambu = R16 million

18 Foxburgh = R15 million.

19 Paul Magula =  R14.8 million.

20 Charl Cilliers = R12.6 million

21 Tiisang Private Capital = R12 million.

22 Maanda Manyatshe = R11 million.

.23 Sasa Nemabubuni = R9 million.

24 Sabicorp = R8 million.

25 Avashoni Ramikosi = R5.9 million.

26 Takalani Mmbi = R4 million.

.27 Phillip Tshililo = R2 million. 


Related Topics: