Aleck Skhosana: We are also confident that the athletics team will outstandingly anchor Team South Africa. Photo: Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG – A 29-member team has been announced by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) for the third edition of the African Youth Games in Algiers, Algeria, from July 19 to 28.

The South African Track and Field contingent, comprising of 13 boys and 16 girls, features versatile athlete Gontse Morake who has broken the SA Under-18 bests in the 400m girls hurdles and triple jump events this season. The team also fields 100m sprint sensation Rose Xeyi.

The African Youth Games will serve as trials for the 2018 Youth Olympic Games, which will be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina on October 6 to 18, where the national team will turn out among the favourites once again in the battle for the top spot in the standings.

South Africa finished second behind Ethiopia on the athletics medals table at the previous edition of the African Youth Games in Gaborone, Botswana, four years ago after securing 12 medals (seven gold, two silver and three bronze).

They will join three other sporting codes which include rugby sevens, hockey fives and archery, as part of the overall South African squad in Algiers.

Subscribe to the IOL Sport Newsletter!

“We are very happy for each of the selected athletes who have a chance to not only win medals in North Africa, but may get selected for the Youth Olympics in Argentina,” said Aleck Skhosana, the president of ASA. 

“Athletes are reminded that they were selected on merit and must therefore remain focussed on the reason why they were selected into the team. We are also confident that the athletics team will outstandingly anchor Team South Africa.” 

Gontse Morake in action in the women's 400m hurdles event. Photo: Sibonelo Ngcobo/African News Agency (ANA)

The South African team is:

100m: Luke Davids (WPA), Rose Xeyi (AGN) 

200m: Luke Davids (WPA), Nicola van der Merwe (ANWN),   

400m: Jayson Weber (WPA), Amy Naude (KZN) 

800m: Prudence Sekgodiso (AGN) 

1500m: Nicole Louw (AFS) 

3000m: Carmie Prinsloo (CGA) 

2000m SC: Tshepo Ntuntwana (CGA), Cara du Preez (CNW) 

110m H / 100m H: Michael Schoeman (AGN), Kayla van der Bergh (ACNW) 

400m H: Lindokuhle Gora (AGN), Gontse Morake (AGN) 

High Jump: Karel Olwage (AVT), Bianca Erasmus (AVT)

Pole Vault: Nikolai van Huyssteen (BOL), Nicole Janse Van Rensburg (WPA) 

Long Jump: Jason Tito (AGN),Mieke Basson (BOL) 

Triple Jump: Sifiso Miya (AGN), Gontse Morake (AGN) 

Shot Put: Lohan Potgieter (AGN), Dane Roets (CGA) 

Discus Throw: Francois Prinsloo (WPA), Dane Roets (CGA) 

Hammer Throw: Damien Bothma (BOL), Phethihisang Makhetehe (AFS) 

Javelin Throw: Jano Esterhuizen (ANWN), Chane van Zyl (AFS) 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter