Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed spins the coin at the toss and AB de Villiers called "heads" correctly at Edgbaston on Wednesday. Photo: @ICC via Twitter
LONDON - South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first, in their Group B clash against Pakistan on Wednesday.

The Proteas will qualify for the knockout stage with a victory over the embattled Pakistanis, and have named an unchanged side.

Pakistan have lost Wahab Riaz to injury, and are desperate to improve on a limp showing against India at the same venue.

The pitch is a bit drier than the other surfaces played on previously, which might suggest some turn in the second innings.

Play starts at 2.30pm SA time.

Teams For Edgbaston

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (captain), David Miller, JP Duminy, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Morné Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan.


IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter