England's Joe Root celebrates after beating Bangladesh. Photo: Reuters / Paul Childs

LONDON – Joe Root scored an unbeaten century as tournament hosts England beat Bangladesh by eight wickets in the opening match of the 2017 Champions Trophy at the Oval on Thursday.

England, set 306 for victory, finished on 308 for two with 16 balls to spare.

Root was a career-best 133 not out and England captain Eoin Morgan 75 not out, with their unbroken stand worth 143.

Opener Alex Hales was out for 95.

Earlier, Bangladesh made 305 for six after losing the toss.

Tamim Iqbal top-scored with 128 and put on 166 for the third wicket with Mushfiqur Rahim (79).

But when both batsmen were out in successive deliveries from fast bowler Liam Plunkett, the innings faltered.

Plunkett led England's attack with four wickets for 59 runs from his maximum 10 overs.



Tamim Iqbal c Buttler b Plunkett 128

Soumya Sarkar c sub (Bairstow) b Stokes 28

Imrul Kayes c Wood b Plunkett 19

Mushfiqur Rahim c Hales b Plunkett 79

Shakib Al Hasan c Stokes b Ball 10

Sabbir Rahman c Roy b Plunkett 24

Mahmuduallah not out 6

Mosaddek Hossain not out 2

Extras (b1, lb1, w7) 9

Total (6 wkts, 50 overs) 305

Did not bat: Mashrafe Mortaza, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Sarkar), 2-95 (Kayes), 3-261 (Tamim), 4-261 (Mushfiqur), 5-277 (Shakib), 6-300 (Sabbir)

Bowling: Woakes 2-1-4-0; Wood 10-1-58-0 (1w); Ball 10-1-82-1; Stokes 7-0-42-1 (1w); Plunkett 10-0-59-4 (2w); Ali 8-1-40-0 (1w); Root 3-0-18-0 (2w)


J. Roy c Mustafizur Rahman b Mashrafe Mortaza 1

A. Hales c sub (Sunzamul Islam) b Sabbir Rehman 95

J. Root not out 133

E. Morgan not out 75

Extras (lb2, w2) 4

Total (2 wkts, 47.2 overs) 308

Did not bat: B Stokes, J Buttler, M Ali, C Woakes, L Plunkett, M Wood, J Ball

Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Roy), 2-165 (Hales)

Bowling: Mortaza 10-0-56-1; Hasan 8-0-62-0 (1w); M Rahman 9-0-51-0; Sarkar 2-0-13-0; M Hossain 7.2-0-47-0 (1w); R Hossain 10-0-64-0; S Rahman 1-0-13-1

Result: England won by eight wickets

Man-of-the-match: Joe Root (ENG)

Toss: England

Umpires: S Ravi (IND), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter