Cricket SA chief executive, Thabang Moroe. Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix
Cricket SA chief executive, Thabang Moroe. Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

No sign of new T20 tournament as Cricket SA announces fixtures for 2018/19

Time of article published Aug 27, 2018

Share this article:

JOHANNESBURG - Cricket South Africa on Monday announced the Franchise fixtures for all three domestic competitions for the 2018/19 season as well as the senior provincial fixtures for both men and women and the various scheduled tournaments at senior and age group level.

“With the ICC Cricket World Cup taking place next year from May to July, we have scheduled the Momentum One-Day Cup to be played in February and March,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Thabang Moroe.

“The semi-finals and final will take place immediately after the conclusion of the white-ball part of our home series against Sri Lanka to assist in the preparation of our Standard Bank Proteas for the World Cup.

“The four-day franchise competition will be split into two sections from September to November and again in December and January to dovetail with our Test Series against Pakistan.

“With three international teams visiting us in Zimbabwe, Pakistan and Sri Lanka in addition to the white-ball tour to Australia, this is going to be a jam-packed season and our longest ever as far as franchise players are concerned. The franchise T20 Challenge will be played in April and May. It adds up to an exciting, challenging and all-action program for all concerned."

All franchise competitions will be played over a double round with the two white-ball competitions then having two semi-finals and a final. The first match of the four day franchise competition starts on Wednesday 26 September and sees the Multiply Titans taking on the Hollywoodbets Dolphins at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

Cricket South Africa

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Share this article:

Related Articles