Senuran Muthusamy has become a mainstay of the Dolphins team. Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

DURBAN – Senuran Muthusamy capped a breakthrough season at the Dolphins in fine style on Wednesday night as he was crowned the KZN Dolphins Player of the Season at their awards dinner at the Mount Edgecombe Country Club Estate.

Muthusamy, who played an increasingly pivotal role in the Dolphins fortunes, after being unlucky to miss out on being part of the RAM Slam T20 squad at the start of the season, also won a cap for South Africa A, taking on a highly rated Australian Test side.

“Senuran richly deserves these awards,” Dolphins CEO Heinrich Strydom said.

“His call-up to the SA A side reflects a season where he has been consistently strong with both the bat and the ball.

“He characterises the toughness that has been emerging in the Dolphins team this season, and has made us respected by all our opponents,” the KZN cricket boss added.

Muthusamy has quietly worked his way up the Dolphins development ranks, and he is now one of the most valued players in the franchise’s stable.

To add to his Player of the Year gong, he also scooped the prestigious Players’ Player of the Year Award, Sunfoil Series Bowler of the Year and Player of the Tournament and the Hollywoodbets Blue Collar of the Year Award for the player who does the most for the team, on and off the field.

“He is a player that has come through the ranks since he was spotted as a Durban schoolboy, and to get the franchises premier award speaks volumes about the way he has been nurtured through the ranks in this province,” Strydom said of his rise to prominence.

It was a night for KZN cricket to reflect on a campaign of success across the representative teams, with both amateur sides winning a trophy, while the Dolphins themselves shared the Momentum One-Day Cup with the Warriors.

They were also finalists in the RAM Slam T20 competition in the early stages of the season, though they fell away on the night against a powerful Titans’ side.

The Dolphins saw their season severely hit by adverse weather at the start of the season, and their Sunfoil Series ambitions were ultimately washed away before they ever got going.

However, there were several stand-out individual performances, and they will look to build on that in the following campaign.

KZN Cricket Award Winners

Sunfoil Series
Fielder of the year: Dane Vilas
Bowler of the Year: Senuran Muthusamy
Batsman of the Year: Vaughn van Jaarsveld

Momentum One-Day Cup
Fielder of the year: Sibonelo Makhanya
Bowler of the Year: Prenelan Subrayen
Batsman of the Year: Sarel Erwee


Fielder of the Year: Prenelan Subrayen
Bowler of the Year: Robbie Frylinck
Batsman of the Year: Morné van Wyk

Sunfoil Series Player of the Year: Senuran Muthusamy
One-Day Cup Player of the Year: Prenelan Subrayen
T20 Player of the year 2017/18: Keshav Maharaj
Hollywoodbets Blue Collar of the year: Senuran Muthusamy
Fans Player of the Year: Vaughn van Jaarsveld
Brand Ambassador: Keshav Maharaj
Most Valuable Player: Dane Vilas
Players Player of the year: Senuran Muthusamy
Player of the Year: Senuran Muthusamy


IOL Sport