Eoin Morgan was named as captain of the preliminary England Cricket squad for the Cricket World Cup. Photo: EPA/David Marius

LONDON – The England preliminary World Cup squad and squads for matches against Ireland and Pakistan were announced on Wednesday:

England preliminary 15-man World Cup squad:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire, wkt), Tom Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham)

England 17-man squad for Pakistan ODIs:

Morgan (capt), Ali, Jofra Archer (Sussex), Bairstow, Buttler (wkt), Curran, Denly, Chris Jordan (Sussex), Hales, Plunkett, Rashid, Root, Roy, Stokes, Willey, Woakes, Wood

England 14-man squad versus Ireland ODI and Pakistan IT20:

Morgan (capt), Archer, Sam Billings (Kent), Curran, Denly, Jordan, Hales, Plunkett, Rashid, Root, Roy, James Vince (Hampshire), Willey, Wood

Fixtures (all times GMT):

May 3: Ireland v England ODI, Dublin (0945)

May 5: England v Pakistan T20, Cardiff (1330)

May 8: England v Pakistan 1st ODI, The Oval (1200)

May 11: England v Pakistan 2nd ODI, Southampton (1000)

May 14: England v Pakistan 3rd ODI, Bristol (1200)

May 17: England v Pakistan 4th ODI, Trent Bridge (1200) 

May 19: England v Pakistan 5th ODI, Headingley (1000)

Agence France-Presse (AFP)