Independent Online

Monday, August 8, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Mzansi Super League Player Draft: The story so far

Dane Paterson was signed for R900 000 by Paarl Rocks. Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

Dane Paterson was signed for R900 000 by Paarl Rocks. Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

Published Oct 17, 2018


CAPE TOWN – There were some big winners – and some not-too-happy coaches – after the first 10 rounds of the Mzansi Super League Player Draft on Wednesday at Montecasino in Johannesburg.

The draft has stopped for a lunch break, and the morning was filled with big deals all over the place.

Story continues below Advertisement

The Durban Heat surprised by choosing Rashid Khan from Afghanistan as their international marquee player when they had the first pick, and the Jozi Stars immediately pounced by going for West Indian opener Chris Gayle.

Then, fringe Proteas such as Jon-Jon Smuts, Heinrich Klaasen, Dane Paterson, Rassie van der Dussen and Robbie Frylinck will be delighted to have been snapped up as second picks, which pocketed them a cool R900 000.

And then we had the ‘million-rand men’ – Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, David Miller, Dane Vilas, Tabraiz Shamsi and Lungi Ngidi.

See how your favourite teams and players have fared up to now…

Cape Town Blitz

Proteas Marquee Player: Quinton de Kock

International Marquee Player: Dawid Malan

Story continues below Advertisement

Squad: Andile Phehlukwayo (R1 million), Dale Steyn (R900 000), Samuel Badree (R750 000), Asif Ali (R650 000), Farhaan Behardien (R550 000), Anrich Nortjé (R350 000), Janneman Malan (R250 000), Malusi Siboto (R200 000), George Linde (R180 000), Ferisco Adams (R150 000)

Excited that I will be joining the @CT_Blitz for the @MSL_T20 in the mother city 🔥🔥🏏🏏

— Andile Phehlukwayo (@andileluck19) October 17, 2018

Story continues below Advertisement

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants

Proteas Marquee Player: Imran Tahir

International Marquee Player: Jason Roy

Squad: Chris Morris (R1 million), Jon-Jon Smuts (R900 000), Junior Dala (R750 000), Christiaan Jonker (R650 000), Aaron Phangiso (R550 000), Sisanda Magala (R250 000), Ryan McLaren (R200 000), Heino Kuhn (R180 000), Marco Marais (R150 000)

Story continues below Advertisement

Super stoked to be joining @nmbstars for the #MSLT20 should be good fun with some of the names in our team! #humbled

— Chris Morris (@Tipo_Morris) October 17, 2018

Durban Heat

Proteas Marquee Player: Hashim Amla

International Marquee Player: Rashid Khan

Squad: David Miller (R1 million), Heinrich Klaasen (R900 000), Kyle Abbott (R750 000), Keshav Maharaj (R650 000), Khaya Zondo (R550 000), Albie Morkel (R350 000), Marchant de Lange (R250 000), Vernon Philander (R200 000), Brandon Mavuta (R180 000), Temba Bavuma (R150 000)

Jozi Stars

Proteas Marquee Player: Kagiso Rabada

International Marquee Player: Chris Gayle

Squad: Dane Vilas (R1 million), Rassie van der Dussen (R900 000), Dan Christian (R750 000), Beuran Hendricks (R650 000), Reeza Hendricks (R550 000), Dwaine Pretorius (R350 000), Eddie Leie (R250 000), Pite van Biljon (R200 000), Duanne Olivier (R180 000), Ryan Rickelton (R150 000)

Round 2: Rassie van der Dussen! 💫 #MSLT20

— Jozi Stars (@StarsJozi) October 17, 2018

Paarl Rocks

Proteas Marquee Player: Faf du Plessis

International Marquee Player: Dwayne Bravo

Squad: Tabraiz Shamsi (R1 million), Dane Paterson (R900 000), Aiden Markram (R750 000), Mangaliso Mosehle (R650 000), Bjorn Fortuin (R550 000), Vaughn van Jaarsveld (R350 000), Grant Thomson (R250 000), Paul Stirling (R200 000), Tshepo Moreki (R180 000), Henry Davids (R150 000)

That face you make when you get drafted by @paarlrocks. Thank you very much for believe in me . Looking forward to spending some time in Paarl. Most importantly everything that I am it’s all because of the most high , forever greatful

— mangaliso mosehle (@Mosehle33) October 17, 2018

Tshwane Spartans

Proteas Marquee Player: AB de Villiers

International Marquee Player: Eoin Morgan

Squad: Lungi Ngidi (R1 million), Robbie Frylinck (R900 000), Jeevan Mendis (R750 000), Theunis de Bruyn (R650 000), Rory Kleinveldt (R550 000), Sean Williams (R350 000), Ben Duckett (R350 000), Gihahn Cloete (R250 000), Lutho Sipamla (R200 000), Tony de Zorzi (R180 000), Dean Elgar (R150 000)



IOL Sport

Like IOL Sport on Facebook

Follow IOL Sport on Twitter

Related Topics: