South Africa's AB de Villiers. Photo: John Sibley/Reuters

Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla have all been granted ‘leave’ ahead of the four Tests against England next month and will play no part in the three T20 matches against England next week.

That team will be captained by under-fire ODI skipper AB de Villiers and includes a handful of players who’ve been participating in the SA A side which is currently touring England. Among the SA A call-ups are Reeza Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Dane Paterson,Tabraiz Shamsi and Mangaliso Mosehle.

In a statement from Cricket SA, selection convenor Linda Zondi, said the side for the three T20s reflect the good depth that is emerging in South African cricket.

“We have also been impressed as a panel by the quality of players coming through our franchise and South Africa ‘A’ system and we are ready to give further opportunities to Andile Phehlukwayo, Mangaliso Mosehle, Jon-Jon Smuts and Dane Paterson who all made their debuts in the recent series against Sri Lanka,” said Zondi.

“Unfortunately, Lungi Ngidi could not be considered because of injury.”

England too named a squad devoid of big names – including Ben Stokes and Joe Root – for the series, which starts at Southampton next Wednesday.

Standard Bank Proteas T20 International Squad:

AB de Villiers (Multiply Titans, capt), Farhaan Behardien (Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (bizhub Highveld Lions), Imran Tahir (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (VKB Knights), Morne Morkel (Multiply Titans), Chris Morris (Multiply Titans), Mangaliso Mosehle (bizhub Highveld Lions), Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans), Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors)


June 21: 1st T20 International, Southampton (19h30, CAT)

June 23: 2nd T20 International, Taunton (18h00, CAT)

June 25: 3rd T20 International, Cardiff (15h30, CAT)

IOL Sport