Theunis de Bruyn walks off after losing his wicket during a Test against England. Photo: Reuters/Jason Cairnduff

DURBAN - Australia won the toss and elected to bat first, in the opening Test against South Africa at Kingsmead. Steve Smith didn’t hesitate to opt to get first strike on a wicket that looks to be a touch on the slow side, and will likely turn more and more as the match wears on.

South Africa have handed Theunis de Bruyn a recall, as Temba Bavuma still hasn’t recovered from his hand injury. There is also a return to the side for spinner Keshav Maharaj, who makes his maiden Test appearance on his home ground. He replaces Andile Phehlukwayo from the last Test against India.

Australia are unchanged from the side that did duty in the final Test of the triumphant Ashes series.

South Africa team: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis (capt), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock (wk), Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel.

Australia team: David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (capt), Shaun Marsh, Mithcell Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter