Proteas captain Aiden Markram won the toss in the third ODI against India at Newlands. Photo: @BCCI via Twitter

CAPE TOWN – Heinrich Klaasen will make his Proteas one-day international debut in Wednesday’s third game against India at Newlands.

South African captain Aiden Markram won the toss and chose to bowl first under sunny skies in Cape Town – thus avoiding any chance of a repeat of last Sunday’s clash at Centurion, where the Proteas were bundled out for just 118 before the interval.

Klaasen comes in for the injured Quinton de Kock and is listed to bat at No 4 at the moment, with skipper Markram moving from that spot to the top to open the innings with Hashim Amla, and JP Duminy at No 3.

Paceman Lungi Ngidi replaces wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi, while there were no changes for India, who lead the six-match ODI series 2-0.

Play starts at 1pm SA time at Newlands.

Teams For Newlands

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram (captain), JP Duminy, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Khaya Zondo, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Lungi Ngidi.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.


IOL Sport