Photo: Andrew Cornaga /

CAPE TOWN - Proteas captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bowl against England in the opening match of the three-game series at Headingley on Wednesday.

South Africa, of course, have their captain AB de Villiers back at the helm after missing the two warm-up matches against Sussex and Northamptonshire over the past weekend due to a respiratory chest infection.

All-rounder Wayne Parnell also returns to the team at the expense of Dwaine Pretorius from the starting XI that won the decider against New Zealand in Auckland a few months ago. 

Morne Morkel also remains on the sidelines.

"It looks a really good wicket and we feel good chasing today," De Villiers said. We'd like to play everyone at some point during the series."

Meanwhile, England made three changes with IPL returnees Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Chris Woakes all returning to the ODI team after their exertions in India for their respective franchises.

Buttler, of course, takes back the wicket-keeping gloves from Sam Billings with Yorkshireman Jonny Bairstow also missing out on his home ground.

With the United Kingdom still on high alert after the bombings that claimed the lives of 22 people at a Manchester pop concert earlier this week, both teams will wear black armbands in memory of those who died.


England: Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (capt), JP Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

[email protected]

Independent Media

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter