File picture of Faf du Plessis.

All-rounders Chris Morris and Faf du Plessis have been called up to the SA T20 squad for the first time ahead of an unofficial series against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh next month.

The squad will be captained by Johan Botha in the absence of AB de Villiers who is one of four players being rested, along with Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel.

“The four players concerned have turned out in virtually all their games for their franchises during the Indian Premier League (IPL),” Cricket SA (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson said on Wednesday after naming a 15-man squad.

“In addition they are involved in all three international formats for the Proteas and this is the last chance to rest them until the end of the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in September and October.

“Du Plessis has been a stand-out performer for the Chennai Super Kings at the IPL and well deserves his T20 call-up.

“He has given us exciting, extra options by demonstrating his ability both at the top of the order and in the middle-order.

“Morris' selection continues our policy of creating international opportunities for those who perform outstandingly well at franchise level and this certainly applies in his case.”

Morris was the leading wicket-taker in last season's domestic T20 Challenge, with 21 scalps at an average of 12.6, and was also effective as a lower-order hitter with a batting strike rate of 200.

Farhaan Behardien and Dane Vilas have been recalled to the national T20 squad.

SA T20 squad: Johan Botha (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Dane Vilas. – Sapa