Proteas Women off-spinner Raisibe Ntozakhe will have to remodel her action if she wants to bowl in international cricket again. Photo: Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

Proteas Women off-spinner Raisibe Ntozakhe’s Tuesday went from absolute joy to despair, and it affects her immediate future in cricket.

Just a few hours after Ntozakhe was named in the South African squad for next month’s ICC World T20 tournament in the West Indies, the governing body announced that her action was ruled to be illegal by an independent assessment.

Ntozakhe has been suspended from bowling in international cricket with immediate effect.

The 21-year-old off-spinner plays for Gauteng, and has taken 12 wickets in 17 ODIs and three in 12 T20 internationals.

The ICC said that Ntozakhe’s action was reported during an ODI against the West Indies on September 16 in Barbados, and that she had undergone an independent assessment on September 28 at the University of Pretoria.

“The assessment revealed that all of her deliveries exceeded the 15 degrees level of tolerance permitted under the regulations,” the ICC said in a statement.

“In accordance with Article 6.1.2 of the ICC Regulations For The Review of Bowlers Reported with Suspect Illegal Bowling Actions, Ntozakhe’s international suspension will also be recognised and enforced by all National Cricket Federations for domestic cricket events played in their own jurisdiction.

“However, according to Article 11.5 of the Regulations and with the consent of the Cricket South Africa, Ntozakhe may be able to bowl in domestic cricket events played under the auspices of CSA.”

Ntozakhe may apply for another assessment of her action once it has been modified.

Cricket South Africa have yet to announce a replacement for her in the World T20 squad.

Current Proteas Squad

Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Chloe Tryon (KZN Coastal) Lizelle Lee (North West), Suné Luus (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (EP), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Zintle Mali (Border), Robyn Searle (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Saarah Smith (WP), Trisha Chetty (Gauteng).



IOL Sport

Like IOL Sport on Facebook

Follow IOL Sport on Twitter