Kagiso Rabada has quickly grown into the leader of the Protreas attack despite his young age. Photo: REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte

JOHANNESBURG - Statistics prove that the public is likely to rally behind the South African Cricketer of the Year Kagiso Rabada for this year’s Gauteng Sports Personality of the Year award after an impressive year of international cricket.

However, it goes without say that not everyone is a cricket supporter. Hence, they can still go for whoever they think deserves the top gong besides Rabada - from tennis player Kgothatso Montjane, footballer Refiloe Jane and cyclist William Mokgopo. The fans have a chance to cast their votes via SMS.

Earlier this year, Rabada was ranked as the top bowler in both ODI and Test competition by the ICC. At 22, he became the fourth Proteas’ bowler to surpass the 900 point-mark after Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock and Dale Steyn.

As such, at this year’s cricket awards he joined some of the greats to have walked away with a double in the Cricketer of the Year category: Jacques Kallis, Makhaya Ntini, Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers. Two months ago, the 23-year-old bagged six awards which marked his second coup of a six in three years – a new era  for South African cricket.

The only award that slipped off his fingers that night was the T20 International Player of the Year award that went to De Villiers and KFC Colonel’s Always Original Award that was snatched by David Miller.

Meanwhile, the Sports Programme of the Year and Sports Fan of the Year will also need the public’s vote in order for them to win in their respective categories at this year’s provincial ceremony that is set to be held at The Globe, Silverstar Casino in Muldersdrift, Mogale City on September 2.

To vote for your favourite nominee, SMS Sport followed by your nominee code – for example Sport 10 for Refiloe Jane - to 49497. SMS’s charged at R1.50

The nominees are:

Sport Personality of the Year: Kgothatso Montjane – Wheelchair Tennis (Sport 09), Kagiso Rabada – Cricket (Sport 01), William Mokgopo – Cycling (Sport 06), and Refiloe Jane – Football (Sport 10)

Sports Fan of the Year: Mamello Constance Makha – Football (Sport 07), Mmakgabo Maheya – Football (Sport 05), and Melanie Ramjee – Special Olympics South Africa (Sport 03)

Sports Programme of the Year: Withziro2six – Kasie FM (Sport 08), Dlala Mzansi – Soweto TV (Sport 02, and The Home Straight (Sport 04)


IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter