AB de Villiers and Jos Buttler at the toss in Cardiff today. Photo: @OfficialCSA via Twitter

Proteas skipper AB de Villiers won the toss and decided to bowl first against England in the third and final T20 international against England in Cardiff on Sunday.

The three-match series is level at 1-1 following South Africa’s dramatic three-run victory in the second match at Taunton on Friday.

Eoin Morgan’s outfit cruised to a nine-wicket win in the first match, but Andile Phehlukwayo showed his temperament under pressure when he defended 11 runs in the final over to keep the Proteas in the mix.

The South Africans opted to make just one new face in their playing XI, with leg-spinner Imran Tahir coming in for left-arm wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi.

England have made a number of changes as their coach Troy Bayliss said he would give everyone a game.

SA-connected left-handed batsman Dawid Malan, who was born in London but attended Paarl Boys’ High, will make his England debut, while Jos Buttler takes over the captaincy from Morgan.

Young spinner Mason Crane also gets another opportunity.

Play starts at 3.30pm SA time.

Teams In Cardiff

South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Jon-Jon Smuts, AB de Villiers (captain), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Mangaliso Mosehle, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Morné Morkel, Dane Paterson.

England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, Jos Buttler (captain), Sam Billings, Liam Livingstone, Liam Plunkett, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Tom Curran, Mason Crane.

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter