PRETORIA, SOUTH AFRICA - FEBRUARY 12: he captians, Graeme Smith of South Africa and Michael Clarke of Austrailia at the toss during day 1 of the 1st Test match between South Africa and Australia at SuperSport Park on February 12, 2014 in Pretoria, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Port Elizabeth – South Africa won the toss and chose to bat against Australia on day one of the second Test at St George's Park, in Port Elizabeth, on Thursday.

South Africa lost the first Test by 281 runs, as Australia led the three match series 1-0. The Proteas made three changes to their  lineup from the first Test.

Alviro Petersen (gastro) and Ryan McLaren (concussion) failed to  recover in time for the match. Robin Peterson, was dropped for the Test.

Coming into the South African team, Quinton de Kock makes his debut and will bat at number seven. De Kock has a first class average of 48.87, with four tons and eight half-centuries.

While the 21-year-old will play his first match for the Proteas in the longest format, De Kock has played 16 One Day Internationals, and 10 T20 Internationals for South Africa.

Dean Elgar, playing in his eighth Test, will open the batting with Graeme Smith.

Left-armer Wayne Parnell, playing in his fourth Test, was the extra bowler added to the team, and was listed as number eight in the batting list.

Australia did not make any changes to their team from the first Test.

South Africa team: Graeme Smith (capt), Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla,  Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.

Australia team: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Alex Doolan, Shaun Marsh, Steven Smith, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Nathan Lyon. –Sapa