Dean Elgar plays a shot during the first day of the opening Test between Sri Lanka and South Africa in Galle.

Galle, Sri Lanka– South Africa were 111-1 at lunch after electing to bat on the opening day of the first Test against Sri Lanka at Galle on Wednesday.

Opener Dean Elgar was batting on 62 and Faf du Plessis was on 14. The second and final Test will be played in Colombo from July 24-28. –

Proteas captain Hashim Amla won the toss and chose to bat in the Test at the Galle International Stadium.

Amla is leading the Test team for the first time, having been named captain in June following Graeme Smith’s retirement from the game.

Amla is the first non-white player to lead the Proteas in a full-time capacity.

The home team have a new opening pair this time with Upul Tharanga playing his first Test since 2007.

The second and final Test will be played in Colombo from July 24-28.


Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Upul Tharanga, Kaushal Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga.

South Africa: Hashim Amla (captain), Alviro Petersen, Dean Elgar, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Vernon Philander, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Quinton de Kock.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)


TV Umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL) – Sapa-AFP