Angelo Mathews returns to captain the team for the once off T against the Proteas. Photo: Dinuka Liyanawatte/Reuters

PALLEKELE – Looking to bounce back from a drubbing in the ODI series, Sri Lanka have named a 15-man squad for the one-off T20I which will conclude South Africa’s visit to their shores on Tuesday, August 14.

Captain Angelo Mathews will return to lead the side after missing the Nidahas Trophy involving India and Bangladesh earlier in the year. In total five players not in the squad for that series have been included.

Tall left-arm quick Binura Fernando, who last played both his T20Is so far in 2015, has returned to the squad, while left-arm wrist-spinner Lakshan Sandakan, right-arm quick Lahiru Kumara and off-spinner Shehan Jayasuriya are the other three to be recalled.

Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay has been brought back despite being handed a suspended one-year sentence for breaking team curfew during Sri Lanka’s tour of the Windies. 

Dinesh Chandimal, who missed both Tests and the first four ODIs through an ICC suspension, has also been included.

Right-arm quick Dushmantha Chameera missed Sri Lanka’s tour of the Windies through injury and is yet to return, Danushka Gunathilaka is suspended, and Nuwan Pradeep, Jeevan Mendis, Isuru Udana and Amila Aponso have all been excluded.

After winning the Test series 2-0, Sri Lanka have lost the ODI series against South Africa and will look to bring Sri Lanka’s visit to an end with victory in the shortest format.

Squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Shehan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan, Binura Fernando 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter