Independent Online

Sunday, August 14, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Unchanged Proteas choose to field as ’pitch looks like will assist the quicks’

Published Nov 2, 2021


Abu Dhabi - The Proteas have kept the same line-up that beat Sri Lanka in their last match for today's ICC T20 World Cup clash against Bangladesh at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium.

South Africa won the toss and will field.

Story continues below Advertisement

Reeza Hendricks will continue to open the batting with Quinton de Kock, leaving captain Temba Bavuma to remain in the middle-order.

The Proteas have not played in Abu Dhabi since their opening game against Australia, which was on a pitch that provided greate assistance to the seam bowlers.

Bavuma expected a similar surface today, unlike the previous matches in Dubai and Sharjah.

"This wicket looks a bit different to the others we've played on," Bavuma said at the toss. "Looks like it will assist the quicks up front."

Bangladesh, meanwhile, have made two massive changes to their line-up for the Proteas with star all-rounder Shakib-al-Hasan ruled out. The Tigers have also dropped premier seam bowler Mustafizur Rahman with Shamim Hossain and Nasum Ahmed being called into the line-up.

Teams for Abu Dhabi

Story continues below Advertisement

South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Quinton de Kock (wk), Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma (capt), Aiden Markram, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das (wk), Shamim Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (capt), Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed.


Story continues below Advertisement