In a surprise move, JP Duminy spun the coin for Proteas captain Faf du Plessis on Tuesday, and the ploy worked as SA won the toss! Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

It took the unusual step of letting JP Duminy spin the coin for Proteas captain Faf du Plessis to win the toss, but it worked!

Duminy won both tosses when he led South Africa in the first two ODIs against Zimbabwe, but Du Plessis subsequently lost it in the third game in Paarl upon his return from injury.

The latter took no chances on Tuesday, ahead of the first T20 clash against Zimbabwe in East London, calling on Duminy – who was left out of the team – to handle the coin.

Opposing captain Hamilton Masakadza called heads incorrectly, and Du Plessis smiled broadly as he chose to bat first at Buffalo Park.

“They say the strength of a captain is to know his weaknesses! So I brought in JP Duminy as a specialist coin-tosser,” Du Plessis said on TV.

There were further new developments in the Proteas side, with debuts handed to Warriors left-handed opener Gihahn Cloete and hard-hitting Lions batsmen Rassie van der Dussen.

“Always really exciting when two guys play their first game for their countries,” Du Plessis said.

“We have to make sure we assess the wicket. Hopefully it’s a good one, and then we can play nice and positive from there.”

Play starts at 6pm, and is live on SABC3 and SuperSport 2.

Teams In East London

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Gihahn Cloete, 3 Faf du Plessis (captain), 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 David Miller, 6 Christiaan Jonker, 7 Andile Phehlukwayo, 8 Junior Dala, 9 Imran Tahir, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi.

Zimbabwe: 1 Hamilton Masakadza (captain), 2 Chamu Chibhabha, 3 Brendan Taylor (wk), 4 Tarisai Musakanda, 5 Sean Williams, 6 Peter Moor, 7 Elton Chigumbura, 8 Brandon Mavuta, 9 Kyle Jarvis, 10 Tendai Chisoro, 11 Chris Mpofu.



IOL Sport

Like IOL Sport on Facebook

Follow IOL Sport on Twitter