The Proteas Women secured the third Test at the Brian Lara Academy in the West Indies on Thursday. Photo: @OfficialCSA on twitter

JOHANNESBURG – Half-centuries by openers Laura Wolvaardt (54*) and Lizelle Lee (54) returned the Proteas to winning ways on Thursday.

The South Africans beat hosts the West Indies by a convincing eight wickets in the fourth women’s T20 international at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad on Thursday. The home side still lead the five-match series 2-1 following the previous fixture’s abandonment.

The pair shared an 89-run stand as South Africa chased 136 for victory after the hosts were restricted to 135/3 by a highly motivated Proteas bowling unit. They gave a fitting performance which fell neatly into the team’s series-saving crusade.

Wolvaardt’s knock was her maiden T20 international half-century and came off 57 deliveries (6x4s), while Lee gave a confidence-boosting performance as she smashed five fours and three sixes to reach her score in just 38 balls. 

Suné Luus (19 off 16) joined Wolvaardt after Lee succumbed to one too many attempts at beating the boundary rope saw her caught by Shemaine Campbelle off Afy Fletcher from the last delivery of the 12th over.

Earlier, Natasha McLean (57) continued her good batting form, notching up her own maiden T20 international half-century (5x4s, 2x6s). Deandra Dottin and captain Stefanie Taylor added respective scores of 28 and 26 runs to round off the innings’ most notable contributions.

Tumi Sekhukhune was the pick of the attack, returning figures of 2/27 at the end of her spell but mention must be made of Marizanne Kapp’s economical 0/13 in her four overs.

With one match remaining of the series, South Africa will look to add another positive result to their tally and draw the series. 

The clash will take place this Saturday, 06 October at the same venue and will be streamed live at

Subscribe to the IOL Sport Newsletter!

The Proteas squad for match four is: 

Chloe Tryon (captain, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Lizelle Lee (North West), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Suné Luus (Northerns), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Masabata Klaas (North West), Zintle Mali (Border), Faye Tunnicliffe (wicket-keeper, Boland), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Saarah Smith (Western Province).

Sport reporter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter