England captain Alastair Cook has been ruled of play in the second ODI against Sri Lanka at Durham on Sunday. Photo: Ian MacNicol

London – England won the toss and chose to bowl first against touring Sri Lanka in the second ODI at Durham on Sunday.

England captain Alastair Cook has been ruled out because of a right groin strain and was replaced at the top of the batting order by Michael Carberry in England’s only change from Thursday’s first ODI, won by the home team to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

Eoin Morgan replaced Cook as captain.

The Sri Lankans made two changes, with Dhammika Prasad and Ashan Priyanjan in for Suranga Lakmal and Thisara Perera.


England: Michael Carberry, Ian Bell, Gary Ballance, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Chris Jordan, James Tredwell, James Anderson, Harry Gurney.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Ashan Priyanjan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Dhammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga. – Sapa-AP