MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 29: Warm up balls are seen during day four of the Fourth Ashes Test Match between Australia and England at Melbourne Cricket Ground on December 29, 2013 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and chose to bat first against England in the first T20 International of their three-match series at Kensington Oval in Barbados on Sunday.

Much attention from the West Indies point of view focuses on the return of Chris Gayle at the top of their batting order after he was sidelined by a back ailment during the first T20 against Ireland in Kingston two weeks earlier.

Despite not being fully fit, fellow Jamaican Marlon Samuels makes the final eleven in a team featuring nine players from the side that defeated Sri Lanka in the World T20 final in Colombo 17 months ago.

Returning to the venue where they lifted the World T20 title in 2010, England have brought in T20 specialists in opening batsman Alex Hales, who has recovered from the injury that kept him out of the one-day series, and fast-medium bowler Jade Dernbach.

With Joe Root back home after fractured his right thumb in the last ODI in Antigua on Wednesday, Luke Wright gets the nod over Moeen Ali for the final spot in the middle-order.


West Indies - Darren Sammy (capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Smith, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree.

England - Stuart Broad (capt), Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Luke Wright, Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, James Tredwell, Jade Dernbach. – AFP