Independent Online

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Senior British Open now a Major

Published Dec 10, 2002


Ponte Verda Bach - The Champions Tour became the first golf circuit with five major championships on Monday when it designated the Senior British Open as a major and added it to the 2003 schedule.

The Champions Tour, formerly called the Senior PGA Tour, will have 31 official tournaments worth a total of more than $52 million (about R474.24) in prize money.

Story continues below Advertisement

The other Champions Tour majors are the US Senior Open, the Senior PGA Championship, The Players Championship and the Tradition.

The Tradition had been played in the spring in Arizona. With a new sponsor, it will move to August 28-31 and be played near Portland.

The Senior British Open, created 16 years ago by IMG and the European tour, will be played on July 24-27 at Turnberry in Scotland.

Story continues below Advertisement

"This announcement confirms the championship's substantial progress over the past 16 years and further enhances its status by its sanction and inclusion on the Champions Tour," said Ken Schofield, executive director of the European tour.

The season begins on January 31 with the MasterCard Championship in Hawaii and ends on October 26 with the Tour Championship.

Related Topics: