Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton has won his fifth Formula One world title on Sunday. Photo: Moises Castillo/AP

MEXICO CITY – Lewis Hamilton became only the third Formula One driver in history to capture a fifth world title on Sunday as Max Verstappen won the Mexican Grand Prix.

The 33-year-old Briton drew level with Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio, with only seven-time champion Michael Schumacher ahead of them in the record books.

He was adding the 2018 crown to his championship wins in 2008, 2014, 2015 and 2017.

The Mercedes driver celebrated by executing ‘doughnut’ wheel spins for the cheering crowd before leaping out of his car and into the arms of his team.

He secured the title by finishing fourth with Sebastian Vettel in second which wasn’t enough for the German to prolong his title challenge with two races still remaining.

After being congratulated by Vettel, Hamilton said: “It’s a very strange feeling, a very humbling experience. To complete this when Fangio did it as well, it’s a very surreal feeling.”

Most Formula One Titles

7: Michael Schumacher – 1994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004

5: Juan Manuel Fangio – 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957

5: Lewis Hamilton – 2008, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018

4: Alain Prost – 1985, 1986, 1989, 1993

4: Sebastian Vettel – 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013