The Sharks have included Tendai Mtawarira and Bismarck du Plessis in the starting side for their Super Rugby playoff against the Reds in Brisbane.

Johannesburg – The Sharks have bolstered their front row, with Tendai Mtawarira and Bismarck du Plessis included in the starting side for their Super Rugby playoff against the Reds in Brisbane on Saturday.

The duo are among five changes made to the starting XV from the side that defeated the Cheetahs in Durban last week.

Mtawarira, who missed the Cheetahs clash, has been passed fit and will start in place of Dale Chadwick in the front row.

Du Plessis, who started on the bench last week, has also fully recovered from a knee injury and replaces Craig Burden at hooker.

Fullback Patrick Lambie, who did not join the touring squad while recovering from an ankle injury, has been replaced by Louis Ludik, who moves up from the bench.

With centre Frans Steyn ineligible for the playoffs, as he signed with the Sharks after the April 1 transfer deadline, he is replaced by Paul Jordaan.

Jordaan starts at outside centre, with Tim Whitehead moving across to his inside.

Willem Alberts is promoted from the bench as a replacement for Pieter-Steph du Toit, who was also omitted from the touring squad with an ankle injury.

Included among the reinforcements on the bench is lock Steven Sykes who has passed a fitness test after missing last week's clash.

Sharks team: Louis Ludik, JP Pietersen, Paul Jordaan, Tim Whitehead, Lwazi Mvovo, Frederic Michalak, Charl McLeod, Ryan Kankowski, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel (captain), Anton Bresler, Willem Alberts, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira. Replacements: Craig Burden, Wiehahn Herbst, Steven Sykes, Jacques Botes, Cobus Reinach, Meyer Bosman, Odwa Ndungane. – Sapa