Dillyn Leyds has maintained his form throughout 2017. Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

CAPE TOWN – He’s had a tremendous few years since returning from Australia, and made his Springbok Test debut in 2017 as well.

And on Tuesday night, Dillyn Leyds was honoured for his consistently good form when he was named the Most Valuable Player at the Western Province Annual Awards function at the Cape Sun.

Utility back Leyds, who is equally comfortable playing at fullback and wing, was the stand-out performer for the Stormers in Super Rugby this year, which resulted in his selection for the Bok squad against France in June.

He came on off the bench in three Tests, but finally made deserved starts against the Wallabies and All Blacks in the last two Rugby Championship clashes.

What makes Leyds such a special player is his ability to create something out of nothing with ball-in-hand, and he is one of the finest counter-attacking players in the country.

Leyds was also named the Senior Player of the Year, while he received the Composure and Capability Award.

Other big winners on the night was lock JD Schickerling, who won the Players’ Player of the Year and Best Forward gongs, while Springbok flank Siya Kolisi won the “Above and Beyond” Award.

Scrumhalf Jano Vermaak was voted the Best Back, while the exciting Damian Willemse and Jaco Coetzee were named the Most Promising Back and Forward respectively.

WP Rugby Union president Thelo Wakefield said: “Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners – it was a privilege to be able to pay tribute to everyone, from the clubs right up to the professional players and all of whom have worked so hard and deserve their rewards.

“Tonight’s awards showcase the efforts that are being made to ensure that WP Rugby remains top across all levels and we wish our teams the best of luck in their respective competitions, as they all chase national titles.”

WP Award Winners

WP U19 Best Forward: BJ Dixon
WP U19 Best Back: Lyle Hendricks
WP U19 Most Promising Player: Christian Ambadiang

WP U21 Best Forward: Ernst van Rhyn
WP U21 Best Back: Tiaan Swanepoel
WP U21 Most Promising Player: Michaine Fick

Composure and Capability Award: Dillyn Leyds
Above and Beyond Award: Siya Kolisi
U19 Bounce Player of the Year: Salmaan Moerat
U21 Bounce Player of the Year: Duncan Saal
Senior Bounce Player of the Year: Dillyn Leyds
MVP Award: Dillyn Leyds

WP Best Forward: JD Schickerling
WP Best Back: Jano Vermaak

WP Most Promising Senior Forward: Jaco Coetzee
WP Most Promising Senior Back: Damian Willemse

WP Women’s Player of the Year: Felicia Jacobs
WP School’s Player of the Year: Henco Martins
WP Referee of the Year: Marius van der Westhuizen
Club Rugby Player of the Year: Tapiwa Tsomondo
Players Player of the Year: JD Schickerling


IOL Sport