Captain Deon Fourie and coach Allister Coetzee arrive at Cape Town airport after WP won the 2012 Currie Cup final against the Sharks in Durban. Photo: David Ritchie

CAPE TOWN - Western Province and the Sharks will be contesting their ninth Currie Cup final against each other at Newlands on Saturday.

Province have the best record between the two teams, having beaten the Sharks five times in those eight title deciders.

Let us take a look back at some of those games...

1995, Kings Park: Natal 25-17 Western Province

A typically wet Durban day greeted the two teams, and who better but French master Thierry Lacroix to guide them to victory. Lacroix kicked six penalties and a conversion in a star-studded line-up that had Gary Teichmann, Andre Joubert, Henry Honiball, James Small and Mark Andrews against a WP side bristling with hardened Boks such as Chester Williams, Joel Stransky, Fritz van Heerden and Tiaan Strauss.

2000, Kings Park: Sharks 15-25 Western Province

Two of the famous WP and Springbok back-three of Percy Montgomery, Breyton Paulse and Pieter Rossouw combined to win it for the visitors.

Paulse scored two tries and Rossouw the other, while Gaffie du Toit could only reply with five penalties for the Sharks as WP won their first title since 1997.

2001, Newlands: Western Province 29-24 Sharks

This was a revenge match for the Sharks, and what an epic final it proved to be.

This time Pieter Rossouw's brother Chris, the flyhalf, scoring a try. But it was Braam van Straaten's deadly boot that was the difference as he slotted five penalties, two conversions and dotted down for a 24-point haul.

2010, Kings Park: Sharks 30-10 Western Province

The 2010 final will be remembered as the Patrick Lambie Show. The precocious young talent announced his arrival on the big stage with a commanding performance as the Sharks pack overpowered WP.

The 20-year-old Lambie scored two tries, and kicked three conversions and three penalties.

2012, Kings Park: Sharks 18-25 Western Province

WP were rank underdogs going into this decider, but Juan de Jongh provided the turning point with an unforgettable individualistic try, dancing through the defence to score.

Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis also showed his BMT, kicking three penalties and a conversion.

WP centre Juan de Jongh does the Gangnam Style dance after his famous try in 2012. Photo: Brenton Geach

IOL Sport