Jaco Peyper will handle his third consecutive Currie Cup final on Saturday. Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

CAPE TOWN – There has been considerable criticism of refereeing officials in recent weeks in the Currie Cup.

And that is perhaps why the South African Rugby Union have opted for their most experienced referee, Jaco Peyper, to handle the final between Western Province and the Sharks.

The 38-year-old Peyper will be in charge of his fourth Currie Cup final at Newlands on Saturday (4pm kickoff).

Peyper was also the man with the whistle in the last two title deciders, between WP and the Sharks in Durban last season – which Province won 33-21 – and in 2016, when the Free State Cheetahs beat the Blue Bulls 36-16 in Bloemfontein.

Shaun Veldsman has been appointed as the television match official (TMO), while the assistant referees will be Cwengile Jadezweni and AJ Jacobs.

SA Rugby also announced the officials for the Under-21 and Under-19 finals on Saturday.

Match Officials

Currie Cup Final – Western Province v Sharks (4pm)

Referee: Jaco Peyper. Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni. TMO: Shaun Veldsman.

Under-21 Final – Blue Bulls v Golden Lions (1pm)

Referee: Ben Crouse. Assistant Referees: Divan Uys, Sindile Ngcese. TMO: Pro Legoete. 

Under-19 Final – Blue Bulls v Sharks (11am)

Referee: Griffin Colby. Assistant Referees: Divan Uys and Sindile Ngcese. TMO: Pro Legoete.


IOL Sport