Odwa Ndungane in action against Western Province in a Currie Cup match. Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

DURBAN - The Sharks have stuck to a winning formula for their Currie Cup Final in Durban on Saturday against Western Province. 

There is just one change in the starting line up from the team that beat the Bulls 37-27 in Durban last week.

Veteran Odwa Ndungane, in what will be his final game for the Sharks - no. 251 - comes into the starting line up for scoring sensation Sbu Nkosi who dislocated his elbow in last week’s win.

Versatile back Rhyno Smith takes up Ndungane’s spot on the bench while there are no changes in the forwards.

The Sharks’ team is made up of predominatly young and relatively inexperienced players, however, they have in their ranks two players that were part of the last team to win the Currie Cup for the Durban side. 

In 2013, it was Keegan Daniel who lifted the Cup as captain of that successful side, and in that same team was Ndungane; both who start this match.

They will be taking on Western Province for the second time in three weeks after losing out in a dead rubber final round robin game in Durban. The Sharks however did beat Province earlier in the season at Newlands. 

The game kicks off at 4pm on Saturday at Kings Park.

Sharks team: 15 Garth April, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Odwa Ndungane, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Thomas du Toit. Bench: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Jean Droste, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Tristan Blewett, 23 Rhyno Smith.

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter