Kings coach Deon Davids is originally from the Southern Cape himself. Photo: Deryck Foster/BackpagePix

PORT ELIZABETH – Southern Kings coach Deon Davids on Friday named his team to take on Munster in a historic Pro14 Championship encounter at Outeniqua Park in George on Saturday. 

The visiting Munster side will be captained by CJ Stander who was born in George.

It will be the first time ever that the picturesque Garden Route city hosts an international franchise fixture.

Davids, originally from the Southern Cape himself, has left intact the entire forward pack that did duty in the narrow 36-35 defeat against Benetton last weekend but the backline and bench show some changes. 

As expected, Martin Du Toit returns to the starting line up in place of Kurt Coleman who was ruled out for the rest of the season after fracturing his left leg against Benetton and there are also changes at wing and centre. 

Yaw Penxe returns at left wing in place of Alshaun Bock. Michael Makase retains his spot on the opposite flank. Jacques Nel gets a rare opportunity to start in the number 12 jersey, switching with Luzuko Vulindlu who moves to the bench.

The big story amongst the replacements is the inclusion of Justin Forwood in the squad for the first time this season. The talented front-row returns after long-term injury. 

In other changes Dukisa Ntabeni, Rudi van Rooyen and Alandre van Rooyen take over as replacements from Tango Balekile, Rowan Gouws and Martin Du Toit.

Davids stressed the need for his players to take individual responsibility for their decision-making after the loss to Benetton and indicated that this was an area his players had been working hard on ahead for the Munster match. 

"Our defensive systems are sound but they still require the player that is in place and in position to execute what we’ve practised – whether it’s to make a tackle or kick into touch. Munster are a very good side and if we make errors and don’t execute well they will punish us," he said.

Rival club rugby powerhouses Progress and Evergreens will provide the official curtain-raiser and the main match between the Kings and Munster will kick off at 19h35. Gates open at 13h00.

The Kings team is: 

15 Masixole Banda, 14 Michael Makase, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Berton Klaasen, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Martin du Toit, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Martinus Burger, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Bobby de Wee, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 Schalk Ferreira

Substitutes: 16 Alandre van Rooyen, 17 Justin Forwood, 18 Luvuyo Pupuma, 19 Lubalalo Mtyanda, 20 Lusanda Badiyana, 21 Rudi van Rooyen, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa, 23 Luzuko Vulindlu  

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter