Deon Davids has named his first team of 2018 to face Edinburgh in the Pro 14 on Friday. Photo: Deryck Foster/BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG – The Southern Kings have named their team to face Edinburgh in their Pro 14 clash at Myreside Stadium, in Edinburgh, on Friday.

As the Kings return from their winter break, a number of familiar faces were included in the starting XV. The team will be captained by Schalk Ferreira and will be chasing its first-ever win in the Guinness Pro 14.

Yaw Penxe, Kurt Coleman, Berton Klaasen and Dries van Schalkwyk are some of the team’s key performers who will line out in the Scottish capital.

Top tackler Andisa Ntsila (132) did not travel with the team on their last trip to Europe, before heading back to South Africa for back-to-back derby games with the Cheetahs.

The Southern Kings are: 

Ntabeni Dukisa; Yaw Penxe, Berton Klaasen, Martin du Toit, Alshaun Bock; Kurt Coleman, Rudi van Rooyen; Schalk Ferreira (capt), Stephan Coetzee, Rossouw de Klerk; Jurie van Vuuren, Dries van Schalkwyk; Bredenkamp Eitel, Martinus Burger, Ruaan Lerm.

Replacements: Tango Balekile, Njabulo Gumede, Pieter Scholtz, Lindokuhle Welemu, Freddy Ngoza, Gouws Rowan/Godlen Masimla, Harlon Klaasen, Masixole Banda. 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter