Fred Zeilinga scooped Pro14 Golden Boot Award on Monday night. Photo: Frikkie Kapp/BackpagePix
Fred Zeilinga scooped Pro14 Golden Boot Award on Monday night. Photo: Frikkie Kapp/BackpagePix

Cheetahs flyhalf Fred Zeilinga scoops Pro14 Golden Boot Award

Time of article published Aug 21, 2018

Share this article:

GLASGOW – Cheetahs’ flyhalf Fred Zeilinga was awarded the Golden Boot in the Pro14 Awards held on Monday evening in Glasgow, Scotland. 

The 25-year-old received the accolade for his accuracy of 85.37 percent, outshining all of the other place-kickers (who had a minimum of 30 attempts at goal) in the Pro14 season.

Cheetahs’ hooker Torsten van Jaarsveld, meanwhile, was selected in the Pro14 Dream Team. Van Jaarsveld was the only SA representative in the Dream Team.

In the headline awards handed out on the evening, after Leinster Rugby became the first team from the Championship to complete a Pro14 and Champions Cup double, the Irish Province captured three of the awards. Coach Leo Cullen took home the Pro14 Coach of the Season award, Jordan Larmour won the Honda Young Player of the Season while Barry Daly was recognised as the Championship’s top try-scorer for last season.

Leinster also saw five players voted onto the Pro14 Dream Team: Andrew Porter, Scott Fardy, Jack Conan, James Lowe and Larmour.

The Players’ Player of the Season was won by Tadhg Beirne for his performances in the Scarlets jersey.

The Ireland international has since joined Munster Rugby but was overwhelmingly recognised by his fellow players for his displays in the Llanelli throughout Scarlets’ campaign that saw them reach the Pro14 final.

The Pro14 Dream Team is: 

15 Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby, 14 Jordan Larmour – Leinster Rugby, 13 Nick Grigg – Glasgow Warriors, 12 Hadleigh Parkes – Scarlets, 11 James Lowe – Leinster Rugby, 10 Rhys Patchell – Scarlets, 9 John Cooney – Ulster Rugby, 8 Jack Conan – Leinster Rugby, 7 Callum Gibbins – Glasgow Warriors (captain), 6 Aaron Shingler – Scarlets, 5 Tadhg Beirne – Scarlets, 4 Scott Fardy – Leinster Rugby, 3 Andrew Porter – Leinster Rugby, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld – Toyota Cheetahs 1 Rob Evans – Scarlets. 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Share this article: