Rikus Pretorius of SA Schools tackled by Jules Even of France U18 during the U19 International Series Rugby Match between South Africa Schools and France U18 at Bishops, Cape Town. Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

CAPE TOWN – Four players from the Western Province Under-18 team that performed below expectations at last week’s Coca-Cola Craven Week in Johannesburg have been selected to do duty for the 28-man SA Schools squad.

They are Muller du Plessis (wing: Paarl Gymnasium), Adrian Alberts (lock: Paarl Boys’ High), Vian Fourie (flank: Paarl Boys’) and Hendrik Martins (flank: Paarl Gym).

Province played three games inside of a week and netted only one win - against the Pumas - to go with a draw with the Golden Lions and loss to Free State on the final day.

The Lions contested the unofficial final against KwaZulu-Natal and produced a strong second-half performance to down the Sharks.

These two sides supply 18 players to the SA squad for next month’s sixth edition of the Under-19 International Series in Cape Town that sees Wales, France and England making the trip to the Mother City.

SA Schools face Wales first at City Park on August 11, then entertain France at Paarl Gymnasium on August 15 before tackling England on August 19 (venue yet to be confirmed).

Rikus Pretorius and wing Muller du Plessis were members of the of the SA side that registered a whitewash in the 2016 series, while scrumhalf Sanele Nohamba, flankers Dylan Richardson and Mark Snyman, lock Juan van der Mescht and prop Keagan Glade all represented the SA Schools ‘A’ team.

SA Schools head coach Lance Sendin had this to say: “This is a talented group of players and we are excited to work with them ahead of the tournament. We have no doubt that a huge challenge awaits in the series, but this is an exciting time of the year for us all and we will give our best to be successful in the series.”

SA Schools squad

Forwards (18): Adrian Alberts (WP), Morne Brandon (Golden Lions), Phendulani Buthelezi (KZN), Jordan Clarke (KZN), Vian Fourie (WP), Keagan Glade (Golden Lions), Travis Gordon (Golden Lions), Ruhann Greyling (Free State), Celimpilo Gumede (KZN), Hendrik Martins (WP), Nkosikhona Masuku (Golden Lions), Fezokuhle Mbatha (KZN), Banele Mthenjane (Pumas), Asenathi Ntlabakanye (Golden Lions), Dylan Richardson (KZN), Mark Snyman (Golden Lions), Juan van der Mescht (KZN), Christen van Niekerk (Golden Lions).

Backs (10): Diego Appollis (Blue Bulls), Muller du Plessis (WP), Jaden Hendrikse (KZN), Yanga Hlalu (Golden Lions), Qamani Kota (Griffons), Conan Le Fleur (KZN), Bonianga Mpeku (Golden Lions), Sanele Nohamba (KZN), Rikus Pretorius (Free State), Christopher Schreuder (Free State).

Weekend Argus

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter