Blitzboks coach Neil Powell has warned his players against over-confidence. Photo: Raghavan Venugopal/

SINGAPORE – The draw for the eighth round of the World Rugby Sevens Series, taking place in Singapore on April 15 and 16, has been made.

Fiji, who won the Hong Kong round of the series on Sunday, by beating South Africa 22-0 in the final, are in Pool A. They are joined by Canada, Russia and invitational side Hong Kong.

The Blitzboks still maintain their position as series leaders overall and can look forward to the significant challenge, in Pool B, of taking on the team who overcame them in the finals of Vancouver and Cape Town – England. France and Japan make up the compliment.

Australia, who surprised many by claiming the bronze medals in Hong Kong, are set to play Argentina, Singapore defending champions Kenya and Samoa in Pool C.

The USA will meet New Zealand, Scotland and Wales in Pool D. Neil Powell, coach of the Blitzboks is in expectant mood, despite the Hong Kong final loss: “We need another strong performance in Singapore next weekend to keep the pressure on Fiji and England.”

Pools for the Singapore Sevens:
Pool A: Fiji, Canada, Russia, Hong Kong

Pool B: South Africa, England, France, Japan

Pool C: Australia, Argentina, Kenya, Samoa

Pool D: USA, New Zealand, Scotland, Wales