Rosko Specman scored twice against Zimbabwe on Friday morning. Photo: @blitzboks on twitter

CAPE TOWN – After taking a 14-0 halftime lead South Africa’s Blitzboks ran out comfortable 31-0 winners against African neighbours in their Dubai Sevens opening fixture on Friday.

South Africa’s tries were scored by: 

Siviwe Soyizwapi, Branco du Preez, Kyle Brown and Rosko Specman (2). 

Du Preez also added two conversions and Justin Geduld was on target with another.

The Springbok Sevens are the defending champions, winning back-to-back titles over the past two seasons. They are also the defending Sevens World Series champions for the past two seasons and will look to make it three-in-a-row during the 2018-2019 season.

The Blitzboks take on Samoa at 12.36pm and will end off the pool-rounds with a match against Argentina at 5:53pm

The Blitzboks squad is:

1 Impi Visser, 2 Philip Snyman, 3 Ryan Oosthuizen, 4 Zain Davids, 5 Werner Kok, 6 Kyle Brown, 7 Branco du Preez, 8 Rosko Specman, 9 Justin Geduld, 10 Dewald Human, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 12 Muller du Plessis, 13 Selvyn Davids*

Replacement Player*

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter