The Blitzboks after their quarterfinal victory over Fiji at the 2017 HSBC Cape Town Sevens. Photo Credit: Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

CAPE TOWN – Defending champions South Africa have drawn England in the HSBC Sydney Sevens taking place in the Australian city from January 26-28.

The Blitzboks make up Pool C with England, Spain and 16th team Papua New Guinea while fresh from their win in Cape Town.

New Zealand top Pool A and will face Fiji, Samoa and Russia. 

In Pool B, runners-up from Cape Town Argentina, will play France, Wales and Kenya.

Pool D features Canada, USA, Australia and Scotland.

The Australian-leg of the Sevens World Series has been held in four different cities since its inception in 1986. Sydney hosted the tournament for the first four years, where after Brisbane, Adelaide and the Gold Coast also hosted the event for a number of years respectively. Sydney was again named as host from the 2015-2016 season and this season will be its third consecutive year as hosts.

The Blitzboks have been victorious in only three Australian tournaments: Adelaide in the 2007-2008, as well as the 2008-2009 season. The South Africans are the defending champions after beating England last season (29-14) in the Cup Final.

Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell will name his touring team shortly before they depart in mid-January 2018.

Meanwhile, England have already named their squad for Sydney.

England Sevens squad:

Tom Bowen, Phil Burgess, Richard de Carpentier, Will Edwards, Harry Glover, Charlie Hayter, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Ruaridh McConnochie, Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton, James Rodwell, Ethan Waddleton. 13th man: Will Glover. 

 African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter