Fiji beat the Blitzbokke 10-12 in the Singapore Cup semi-final on Sunday. Photo: Satish Kumar Subramani/Reuters

SINGAPORE – South Africa have been drawn alongside Samoa in group D in the London Seven Series event to be held on June 2 and 3.

Alongside the Blitzboks in group D are Canada and Russia. 

South Africa finished fourth at the Singapore Sevens on Sunday, after losing to England in the bronze medal playoff. It meant South Africa relinquished their lead at the top of the Sevens Series standings to Fiji.

It was a costly weekend for the Springbok Sevens as they lost stand-in skipper Kyle Brown for the season with a knee injury. The World Rugby Player of the Year 2017 nominee picked up the injury on Sunday, and it was later revealed he would miss the final two events of the Sevens Series.

The Blitzboks started the bronze final with only 10 fit players, but will now have a month for the players to recover for the penultimate event of the series. The final Seven Series stop will be in Paris a week later on June 9 and 10.

Fiji were drawn in group A alongside New Zealand, Scotland and Argentina.

The draw for the London Sevens was made in Singapore on Sunday. Photo:
The draw for the London Sevens was made in Singapore on Sunday. Photo:

The Pools for the London Sevens are:

Pool A: Fiji, New Zealand, Scotland, Argentina

Pool B: Australia, Spain, Wales, TBC

Pool C: England, Kenya, USA, France

Pool D: South Africa, Samoa, Canada, Russia

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter