Jaque Fourie will start a new journey with the Western Force. Photo: Nigel Marple/Reuters

PERTH – Axed Super Rugby club Western Force have named their squad for a series of seven invitational matches at Perth’s nib Stadium.

A new-look Western Force team will go up against Pacific nations Fiji, Tonga and Samoa plus Hong Kong and Super Rugby outfits, the Melbourne Rebels and Crusaders between May and August.

The seven-match World Series Rugby (WSR) will evolve into a fully-fledged international competition for the Asia Pacific region in 2019 and beyond.

“We have rebuilt the Western Force as we develop our tournament and we now have a wholly integrated community and high-performance club as the foundation of the future competition,” said Andrew Forrest, the WSR founder.

“We have serious ambitions for this great team and for rugby in our region and intend to see these ambitions through, starting today with the launch of World Series Rugby.

“We have already begun reinforcing grassroots rugby across Western Australia with a fun new RugbyRoos program encouraging kids aged 4 to 12 to take up this great game.

“Our new and dynamic series will continue this great work, bringing in a whole new support base for the game, inspiring young players and attracting important corporate interest.

“The focus for 2018 is to reintroduce and reinforce professional rugby in Western Australia for the benefits of our grassroots community, our players and our fans,” Forrest continued.

“In 2019 the WSR will evolve into a high-calibre, international competition with the goal of making rugby the community-building sport of Asia.”

Western Force Squad

AJ Alatimu, Chris Alcock, Marcel Brache, Masivesi Dakuwaqa, Rod Davies, Andrew Deegan, Tevin Ferris, Jaque Fourie, Josh Furno, Peter Grant, Chris Heiberg, Rodney Iona, Feleti Kaitu’u, Brad Lacey, Kieran Longbottom, Ryan Louwrens, Cameron Orr, Harrison Orr, Leon Power, Ian Prior,Harry Scoble, Tom Sheminant, Brynard Stander, Elliot Turner, Clay Uyen, Fergus Lee Warner.

African News Agency (ANA)