JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - SEPTEMBER 01, Flip van der Merwe receives the ball during the South African national rugby team field session and media conference at KES on September 01, 2012 in Johannesburg, South Africa Photo by Duif du Toit / Gallo Images

Joahnnesburg – A group of 38 players, including eight who were not part of the first camp, will assemble in Durban on Sunday for the second Springbok training camp of the season, ahead of next month's inbound tour.

Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, Lappies Labuschagne, Willie le Roux, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis were all included in the group named on Wednesday, after missing out on last month's camp in Cape Town.

The SA Rugby Union said seven injured players who were part of Springbok squads last season Ä JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe Ä were not considered for selection as they would not be fit to play in June.

Andries Bekker was also left out due to club commitments later this season in Japan.

“It looks like most of the guys are improving weekly and a few new players have put up their hands, which is good to see with the first Test only a few weeks away,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“We've also been very impressed with the form shown by a number of players since we were together in April.

“This camp will provide us with a great opportunity to work with these players before the squad for the Castle Lager Incoming Series is finalised.

“Overseas-based players were not considered for this camp as some of them are still playing in their respective finals this coming weekend. They are at the end of their seasons and need a well-deserved break before the start of the series.”

Springbok group for Durban training camp: Forwards: Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Jannie du Plessis, Coenie Oosthuizen, Wiehahn Herbst, Adriaan Strauss, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Eben Etzebeth, Flip van der Merwe, Juandre Kruger, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Marcell Coetzee, Willem Alberts, Arno Botha, Lappies Labuschagne, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski. Backs: Jano Vermaak, Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie, Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies, Demetri Catrakilis, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Jan Serfontein, Robert Ebersohn, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Raymond Rhule, Lionel Mapoe, Bjorn Basson, Gio Aplon, Zane Kirchner, Willie le Roux. – Sapa