Embrose Papier finally has a reason to smile after being included in the Springbok starting line-up for Saturday's Test against Scotland. Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

He has had to watch longingly from the bench or the stands all year long, but now Embrose Papier has finally been given his big break.

The young scrumhalf has been included in the Springbok starting line-up by coach Rassie Erasmus for Saturday’s Test against Scotland at Murrayfield (7.20pm SA time kickoff).

Bulls halfback Papier replaces Faf de Klerk, who is unavailable after being released back to his English club Sale, while Ivan van Zyl is on the bench after starting against England.

Erasmus had to re-jig his loose trio as well following the withdrawal of Warren Whiteley, who has been ruled out for the rest of the tour with a calf injury.

That sees Duane Vermeulen moving back to No 8, and Pieter-Steph du Toit shifting to blindside flank once more.

RG Snyman fills the gap left by Du Toit at No 4 lock, with Eben Etzebeth still not recovered from a foot problem.

Erasmus said on Thursday: “Unfortunately, Eben is still not fully fit, and this gives RG Snyman another great opportunity to start against one of the top rugby sides.

“Moving Duane and Pieter-Steph around in the pack isn’t disrupting at all, as both of them are very experienced and have played for us in these positions earlier in the season.”

Springbok Team

15 Willie le Roux 14 Sbu Nkosi 13 Jesse Kriel 12 Damian de Allende 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi 10 Handré Pollard 9 Embrose Papier 8 Duane Vermeulen 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit 6 Siya Kolisi (captain) 5 Franco Mostert 4 RG Snyman 3 Frans Malherbe 2 Malcolm Marx 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Bench: 16 Bongi Mbonambi 17 Thomas du Toit 18 Vincent Koch 19 Lood de Jager 20 Francois Louw 21 Ivan van Zyl 22 Elton Jantjies 23 Cheslin Kolbe.



IOL Sport

Like IOL Sport on Facebook

Follow IOL Sport on Twitter