Leopards Rugby Union boss, André May. Photo: Luiperds Rugby via Facebook

CAPE TOWN – Current president Mark Alexander will be challenged for his position by Leopards Rugby Union boss André May at SA Rugby’s April 6 elections.

SA Rugby confirmed the list of nominees on Wednesday afternoon, with Alexander – who took over from Oregan Hoskins in August 2016 – having to fight off the ambitions of long-serving Leopards president May, who is an advocate from Potchefstroom.

May has often been critical of SA Rugby processes during AGMs over the years, and now he aims to take up the hot seat.

Alexander, though, is a popular figure within SA Rugby, and it would take considerable caucusing by May to topple the incumbent.

But things may not be as clear-cut for Alexander’s deputy, veteran rugby administrator Francois Davids.

Previously the president of Boland Rugby, Davids will go face-to-face with another long-serving rugby man, Dr Jan Marais of the Griffons in Welkom, who was the chairman of the SA Rugby (Pty) Ltd company before it was dissolved in favour of the current, single SA Rugby structure.

Another “blast from the past” among the nominees for the Saru Executive Council is Arthob Petersen, a former Springbok team manager and Boland stalwart.

Petersen was at the Boks during the tenures of Nick Mallett, Jake White and Peter de Villiers for various periods.

Western Province president Thelo Wakefield has also been nominated for the Exco, along with Pumas boss Hein Mentz.

Nominations for SA Rugby elections

President: Mark Alexander (incumbent president), Advocate André May (Leopards)

Deputy President: Francois Davids (incumbent deputy president), Dr Jan Marais (Griffons)

Executive Council: Vivian Lottering (incumbent – Valke), Schalk Liebenberg (KZN), Hein Mentz (Pumas), Lindsay Mould (Free State), Arthob Petersen (Boland), JJ van der Mescht (Blue Bulls), Thelo Wakefield (WP).

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter