Sbu Nkosi makes a return to the Springbok team. Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

The uncapped Blitzbok star Ruhan Nel, Vincent Koch (prop), Sbu Nkosi (wing), Lionel Mapoe (centre) and Ivan van Zyl (scrumhalf) have been added to the Springbok squad for their final two Castle Lager Rugby Championship home matches against the Wallabies and the All Blacks.

They will join the 17 players already in camp in Port Elizabeth on Sunday. The Springboks face the Wallabies next Saturday at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. They conclude the Castle Lager Rugby Championship with a return fixture against the All Blacks at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria a week later.

Nel, who plays outside for DHL Western Province in the Currie Cup, is included amongst the backs alongside Mapoe. Nkosi has recovered from the ankle injury that stopped him from playing in any Castle Lager Rugby Championship matches so far this year.

Front ranker Koch is currently starring for Saracens in England. Meanwhile, Trevor Nyakane (prop, Vodacom Blue Bulls) will continue with his conditioning programme under the supervision of the Springbok conditioning and medical staff over the next two weeks.

Rassie Erasmus, SA Rugby’s Director of Rugby, said he was excited to welcome back players such as Van Zyl, Mapoe and Nkosi, and to work with Nel and Koch.

“Ruhan comes with a lot of international experience with the Blitzboks and he has performed consistently well for DHL WP, so it will be good to see how he operates in the Bok environment,” said Erasmus.

“Trevor and Sbu have been part of the squad earlier in the year and it’s good to welcome them back, while the players who featured for their provinces in recent weeks all got some valuable game time.”

 The Springbok squad for the Castle Lager Rugby Championship home leg against the Wallabies and All Blacks:

Forwards (16):

Schalk Brits

Pieter-Steph du Toit

Eben Etzebeth 

Steven Kitshoff 

Vincent Koch 

Siya Kolisi (Captain)

Wilco Louw 

Frans Malherbe 

Malcolm Marx 

Bongi Mbonambi

Franco Mostert 

Tendai Mtawarira

Sikhumbuzo Notshe 

RG Snyman 

Marco van Staden

Warren Whiteley 

Backs (14):

Faf de Klerk 

Aphiwe Dyantyi 

André Esterhuizen 

Elton Jantjies 

Willie le Roux 

Cheslin Kolbe

Jesse Kriel 

Lionel Mapoe

Ruhan Nel 

Sibusiso Nkosi 

Embrose Papier 

Handré Pollard 

Ivan van Zyl 

Damian Willemse 

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter