Dylan Sage was the only Blitzboks player named in the London Sevens Dream Team despite South Africa reaching the final. Photo: Paul Harding/AP Wire

PARIS, France – South Africa have been drawn in Pool B alongside Canada, Russia and Scotland for the final round of the World Rugby Sevens Series’ in Paris this weekend.

With Fiji only seven points clear of South Africa at the top of the men’s standings it promises to be a thrilling finale to the series. The pool draw sees series leaders Fiji in a tough group with third-placed New Zealand, Kenya and Samoa in Pool A. 

South Africa are hot on the heels of Fiji, after losing to the Islanders in the final in London on Sunday. Pool C sees Ireland fresh from their surprise bronze medal triumph in London take on Australia, Wales and Spain. 

In Pool D, hosts France are drawn with England, Argentina and USA. The competition begins on Saturday with Australia taking on Wales in the first game of the day at 9am local time.

At the bottom end of the standings, relegation matters will be resolved as one team will drop out of the core teams for the 2018-19 series to be replaced by China and Japan respectively following their victories at the qualification event in Hong Kong in April. 

Russia currently occupy the relegation spot in the series. Meanwhile, Dylan Sage was the only South African to make the London Sevens Dream Team announced on Sunday.

South Africa lost to 21-17 to Fiji in the final, but only managed the single representative on the Dream Team. In total, three Fijians made the team with Paula Dranisinukula, Josua Tuisova and Semi Radradra chosen. 

Ireland had two representatives in Jordon Conroy and Mark Roche. England's Mike Ellery was the final member of the team. 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter