Warren Gatland has named his travelling squad for the three-test series. Photo: Rebecca Naden/Reuters

CARDIFF – Wales on Tuesday named a 31-man squad for their forthcoming three-Test summer tour starting with their encounter with the Springboks in Washington D.C, USA, on June 2.

Cory Hill and Ellis Jenkins have been named co-captains with Cardiff Blues scrum-half Tomos Williams the sole uncapped player.

Wales will head to the Americas at the end of the month ahead of their encounter with South Africa. They will then travel south to Argentina for two tests against the Pumas on June 9 (San Juan) and June 16 (Santa Fe).

“This summer is a great opportunity for this squad to build on their experience, get test match game time under their belt and face Rugby Championship opposition,” said Wales coach Warren Gatland.

“We have picked a squad of 31 to try and give players as much game time as possible. It shows the depth we have built in recent years that we have just one uncapped player in the squad in Tomos, but he has been in a number of squads so knows the environment well.

“We have picked Cory and Ellis as co-captains, they are both leaders and have experience captaining at regional level so this is an opportunity for them to build on that.

“This summer is another step on our 2019 RWC path and a great opportunity to build on recent campaigns.”

Gatland has named Cory Hill and Ellis Jenkins as co-captains. Photo: Rebecca Naden/Reuters
Gatland has named Cory Hill and Ellis Jenkins as co-captains. Photo: Rebecca Naden/Reuters

The Wales squad is:

Forwards: Rob Evans (Scarlets) (25 Caps) Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (8 Caps) Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (18 Caps) Elliot Dee (Dragons) (7 Caps) Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (2 Caps) Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (31 Caps) Samson Lee (Scarlets) (38 Caps) Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (2 Caps) Adam Beard (Ospreys) (2 Caps) Bradley Davies (Ospreys) (62 Caps) Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues) (4 Caps) Luke Charteris (Bath) (74 Caps) Cory Hill (Dragons) (15 Caps) (Co-Captain) James Davies (Scarlets) (1 Cap) Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues) (6 Caps) (Co-Captain) Ross Moriarty (Gloucester) (20 Caps) Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (11 Caps) Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (17 Caps)`

Backs: Aled Davies (Scarlets) (8 Caps) Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (32 Caps) Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (* Uncapped) Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues) (15 Caps) Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (8 Caps) Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (6 Caps) Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (4 Caps) Scott Williams (Scarlets) (55 Caps) Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors) (2 Caps) Hallam Amos (Dragons) (15 Caps) Steff Evans (Scarlets) (9 Caps) George North (Northampton Saints) (73 Caps) Tom Prydie (Scarlets) (7 Caps)

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter