JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA -MARCH 21: Lawrence Sephaka of the Lions celebrates during the Super 14 match between Auto & General Lions and Brumbies at Coca-Cola Park on March 21, 2009 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Johannesburg – The Springbok women will play against a women’s interprovincial squad at Newlands on Saturday in a curtain raiser to the Stormers’ Super Rugby clash against the Force, SA Rugby (Saru) said on Wednesday.

A group of 24 Springbok women gathered in Cape Town on Wednesday for a four-day training camp, in preparation for the IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup in France in August.

“We made a commitment last year when we qualified for the IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup that we will do everything possible to ensure that the players are well prepared for the tournament, and these camps play an important role in this process,” Saru’s general manager of High Performance, Rassie Erasmus said.

“The players have been training hard in the last few months with the satellite coaches in their respective provinces, but it is vital that they have the opportunity to gel as a unit before the World Cup.”

The training group, under the guidance of coach Lawrence Sephaka, excludes the Springbok women’s sevens players who are in Amsterdam preparing for the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series on Friday and Saturday.

A full strength Springbok women’s squad will be selected in the next few weeks to travel to London on June 25 for two warm-up matches against the Nomads, followed by a trip to France for a match against World Cup hosts and pool contenders France on July 4.

A separate Saru women’s interprovincial squad of 22 players was also named and will train on their own in the next few days.

Springbok women’s squad:

Forwards: Celeste Adonis, Nolusindiso Booi, Nomathamsanqa Faleni, Laurian Johannes, Portia Jonga, Sesethu Kobese, Thantaswa Macingwane, Vuyokazi Mbonda, Andrea Mentoor, Nomsa Mokwai, Nwabisa Ngxatu, Asithandile Ntoyanto, Denita Wentzel, Mandisa Williams.

Backs: Siviwe Basweni, Phumeza Gadu, Natasha Hofmeester, Tayla Kinsey, Benele Makwezela, Lusanda Mtiya, Haroline Rhodes, Ntombifuthi Sibiloane, Ziyanda Tywaleni, Shona-Leah Weston.

Women’s interprovincial squad:

Forwards: Janine Botha, Mymoena Gamiet, Nombasa Hagile, Charmaine Kayser, Estha Mahlangu, Khayalethu Mambalu, Katlego Moremi, Nqabakazi Nqoro, Faith Tshauke, Amanda Tshidi, Simone Vosloo.

Backs: Atheana Botha, Cindy Cant, Lusanda Dumke, Abigail Jantjies, Veronica Malantswane, Nqobile Mhlangu, Xoliswa Mbobo, Zandile Nojoko, Siduka Noluvuyo, Siphosethu Tshingana, Nonhlanhla Ntambo. – Sapa