Sonny Bill Williams (centre) with his Blues teammates after training in Cape Town. Photo: @SonnyBWilliams via Twitter

Right, buy your tickets! Box-office hit Sonny Bill Williams will line up at inside centre for the Blues against the Stormers at Newlands on Friday night.

Sonny Bill was under an injury cloud after missing last week’s game against the Cheetahs in New Zealand due to concussion.

But the All Black superstar has made the trip to Cape Town, and on Wednesday, the Blues confirmed that he will wear the No 12 jersey on Friday night (7pm kickoff).

That sets up a thrilling duel with the Stormers’ own international centre, Damian de Allende, who will also make his return to the field after a long layoff with an ankle injury.

And while Sonny Bill will look to rip it up on the pitch on Friday, he has been enjoying the sights and sounds of the Mother City as well, where he has a huge fan base.

He was one of the more popular figures in the Cape when he used to play for the Crusaders, with fans “stalking” the team hotel in the city for days on end just to get a glimpse of the big man.

And this time around, they have been lucky too, with Sonny Bill taking to Twitter to share some pics with his supporters.

One of those is Proteas all-rounder Wayne Parnell, who also met up with Sonny Bill in Auckland when the South African cricket team were on tour in New Zealand earlier this year.

Stormers coach Robbie Fleck will name his team later on Wednesday, and will have thought long and hard about his backline selection as the Blues unit have been lethal.

Apart from Sonny Bill, the Capetonians should watch out for fullback Melani Nanai, outside centre George Moala and left wing Rieko Ioane – lethal!

Mind you, one Seabelo Senatla is fit again for the Stormers too…

Blues Team

15 Melani Nanai, 14 Matt Duffie, 13 George Moala, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Piers Francis, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 James Parsons (captain), 1 Ofa Tu’ungafasi.

Bench: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Alex Hodgman, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Kara Pryor, 21 Sam Nock, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 Michael Collins.



Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter